If I delete my post, I want it deleted, WHO WOULD HAVE THOUGHT?
So why, when I delete a post, I see “undelete”? Who was the genius who thought of this idea as being a good one?
Thanks.
If I delete my post, I want it deleted, WHO WOULD HAVE THOUGHT?
So why, when I delete a post, I see “undelete”? Who was the genius who thought of this idea as being a good one?
Thanks.
It’s technically impossible to ensure a complete deletion in a distributed system like the fediverse (which Lemmy is based on). When you post something it’s sent to many different servers, which could ignore your delete request afterwards. Also, the users who received it could have read it already, and we don’t have the technology to make them forget (yet).
Could just be like “overwrite data” and what it does is automatically edit and overwrite the post to just say “deleted”?
So just remove the delete feature entirely then.